I’m soon to go to Edinburgh to meet members of a blogging group I belong to – so thought I’d better do a blog!

From the beginning of Lent I’ve been experimenting with telling the gospel from heart as I preside at services. It’s been a surprising challenge. Surprising because I discovered a freedom in telling the text that I didn’t expect. A challenge to allow the story to speak for itself, to allow myself to be in the story without taking it over. And I am really enjoying it.  I enjoy telling with the rural congregations that I work with. I love the relaxed intimacy that can be part of these settings. In fact, on Easter Day when we happily had visitors in various places, I felt my telling was more stumbling, to people with whom I have a different kind of connection. Interesting!

Inspiring me along the way of telling has been the web site Story Divine http://www.storydivine.com/ There I have been listening to http://www.storydivine.com/twitter.com/caseyfitzgerald and others telling the story of God through scripture and through their own stories.

This Sunday, as Luke’s gospel followed on the story on the road to Emmaus, with another resurrection moment around a meal time, I shared a couple of meal time stories of my own. I asked questions about how we feed the story of Easter, putting flesh and bones on this story of love in action, for ourselves and for our communities.

To quote Jim Cotter in his re-forming of the Lord’s Prayer:

With the bread that we need for today, feed us.

 

Setting the table for breakfast at Iona Abbey.

Setting the table for breakfast at Iona Abbey.

 

