Intentions …
Looking in the mirror, looking myself in the eyes is hard enough.
Looking into the eyes of another, sitting next to someone I think is too different, is harder still.
They look different, have different customs, think differently, believe differently – I think these differences are too wide a gap to bridge. I have used the label ‘they’ and separated myself.
Through the mirror may multiple blurring reflections be brought together – a reminder that all are wounded human beings. May reflection lead to intentional bridge-building and true community.
God of many names, have mercy upon me.

God of many names, have mercy on us.

 

 

Plaque marking the place in Eltham, London, where the black teenager Stephen Lawrence was killed in 1993.

Plaque marking the place in Eltham, London, where the black teenager Stephen Lawrence was killed in 1993.

