Prompt from John 15:5, “I am the vine, you are the branches; those who abide in me and I in them bear much fruit.” Thinking about other metaphors describing connection with God.

My phone fits close in the palm of my hand.
I look out to spot the flashing light of a message.
The pressure is on to reply immediately, to decide what needs a response and what can wait, the fear rises of missing out, of not being in the loop.
God of possibilities and connections, you call us into deep relationship, beyond automatic response. God of presence and absence, you fit closely into hands that reach out to create and give. May the convenience of mobile technology be a way into something real. May time with the phone on silent bring peace, discernment and wisdom. May the calendar reminder lead to prayer and action on behalf of others. Amen.

Westminster-20120711-00308

(Yarnbombed telephone box in Westminster, London. Photo taken July 2012)

