Through the prophet Malachi, comes the challenge: “Will anyone rob God? Yet you are robbing me! But you say, ‘How are we robbing you?’ In your tithes and offerings! Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, and thus put me to the test: see if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you an overflowing blessing.” (Malachi 3:8-10, adapted from NRSV)

“It’s a relief to talk” he said, as he shared memories and thanksgivings.
“What is this?” she said, as church gathers in the care-home dining room, and the broken piece of bread is placed into her hands.
“Look outside” he said, and there is the striking plumage of the woodpecker contrasting against the bark of the gentle chestnut tree.
Moments given and received.
How many moments have I missed to give whole-heartedly, to receive with thanks?
Lord, in your mercy, hear our prayer.

Img_2103

(One of the gorgeous chestnut trees in front of my house. This photo taken April 2011)

