Writing prompt for today: “The LORD is my strength and my might,
and he has become my salvation; this is my God,
and I will praise him. … At the blast of your nostrils
the waters piled up, the floods stood in a heap,
the deeps congealed in the heart of the sea.” (Exodus 15:2 and 8, NRSV)

The waves stand tall and proud and daunting, daring the traveller through life to step through. High walls of life-diminishing poverty, hunger, injustice, violence close in on many. Flood waters of debt, hurt, addiction, loneliness, work overload, persistent unemployment damage the lives of others. O God, our guide and source of life, go with us into the deep, throw us a lifeline and help us to support one another through the hard tides of life.   Amen.

Argyll_and_bute-20110911-00113

(photo taken on Iona, looking out towards Mull, Sept 2011)

