Prompt: In the desert .. “the devil led him up and showed him in an instant all the kingdoms of the world. And the devil said to him, ‘To you I will give their glory and all this authority.'” (Luke 4:5-6, NRSV) in other words ..  “All of this can be all about you.”

 

Centre stage feels good. Having the chance to be heard, to do what I feel good at.
Today I stand in the wings, feeling ignored, painfully reminded once more of my imperfection and my longing to be perfect.
Have mercy O God on my wanting to be always mistake-free. Have mercy on my reluctance to take the risk and step boldly into failure. Have mercy on the gifts I fail to practice for fear of not reaching the mark I set for myself. Have mercy as I make it all about me, and forget to love my crooked neighbour with my crooked heart.

 

Argyll_and_bute-20110913-00120

(photo of fallen Christ on Iona, Sept 2011)

