20th June 2012

Hilary’s Hike.

Cherwell-20120525-00196

Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time… To raise money for the renovation project at St John’s Hall Church, Kidlington, the vicar does a sponsored walk all around the parish. The aim is on Saturday 14th July to walk every road in the parish (Kidlington with Hampton Poyle). It’s about 25 miles. Now the sponsor forms are getting out and about, the articles have been submitted to the parish magazine and the diocesan website, the links are up to the church website … so I guess I have to do it!

I’ve got the boots and I’ve been doing some training, hopefully gradually building up my stamina and endurance and fitness (which is at a pretty low level). So if you see me out and about, walking with grim determination, by all means give me a smile and a wave – but don’t offer me a lift!

I enjoy walking, the art of rambling and meandering along, and the serendipity of encounters with people and the unexpected spottings of kindness and beauty.

Cherwell-20120609-00223Cherwell-20120613-00231Cherwell-20120613-00229Cherwell-20120613-00228

So I’m kind of looking forward to the challenge of this walk – as I’ve been told – it’s just a matter of putting one foot in front of the other?! One more step along the world I go – to quote one of my favourite Sydney Carter songs. (Another ukulele song to practise.)

I’ll report back on my progress, and in the meantime if you would like to sponsor me you can find out more at https://sites.google.com/site/stjohnkidlington/

